Who is Collaborative Spine
Our Principals/Priorities
Board of Directors
Our Heritage
Contact Us
Funding Opportunities
Grantee Support
Grant Recipients
Setting the Agenda
Stakeholder Forum
About Collaborative Spine
Our Research Agenda
For Our Grant Investigators
For Our Stakeholders
Additional Information

Board of Directors

The Collaborative Spine Research Foundation board of directors consists of a nine-member group. The makeup of the board — four orthopaedic surgeons, four neurosurgeons and one physician representing another branch of medicine — ensures an unbiased approach to clinical spine research. The board and its committees (conflict of interest, grants and peer-review) adhere to strict conflict of interest standards.

The Collaborative Spine board of directors actively engages stakeholders across the spectrum of those who provide and receive spine care. The board is committed to ensuring that needs and knowledge gaps are approached in a manner that is properly supported by clinical spine research — benefiting and improving the lives of those living with spinal diseases and disorders.

Collaborative Spine Research Foundation
board of directors

James D. Heckman, MD (Chair)
Charles L. Branch Jr., MD, FAANS (Secretary/Treasurer)
Ray M. Baker, MD
Zoher Ghogawala, MD, FAANS, FACS
Richard J. Haynes, MD
Paul McCormick, MD, MPH, FAANS, FACS
Peter S. Rose, MD
Christopher I. Shaffrey, MD, FAANS, FACS
Jeffrey C. Wang, MD

To learn more about the Collaborative Spine board of directors and leadership, please click here.